Below are pepper spray laws and restrictions that we are aware
of. You should check locally if you believe pepper sprays may be
restricted in your area.
State Laws and Restrictions
States Where Pepper Sprays are Restricted
(We cannot ship to these states. If an order is placed your order
will be cancelled)
New York: New York residents may only purchase defense sprays
from licensed Firearms Dealers or licensed Pharmacists in that
Massachusetts: Massachusetts residents may only purchase
defense sprays from licensed Firearms Dealers in that state.
States Where Pepper Sprays Have Some Restrictions
Michigan: OC Pepper spray can be no stronger then a 2%
concentrate (Different companies can sell different concentrations.)
CS is the only Tear Gas accepted and can be no larger then 35 grams
per can. No combination spray allowed.
View Michigan Approved
Wisconsin: Tear gas is not permissible. By
regulation, OC products with a maximum OC concentration of 10% and
weight range of oleoresin of capsicum and inert ingredients of 15-60
grams are authorized. This is 1/2 oz. and 2 oz. spray. Further, the
product cannot be camouflaged, and must have a safety feature
designed to prevent accidental discharge. The units may not have an
effective range of over 20 feet and must have an effective range of
six feet. In addition there are certain labeling and packaging
requirements: must state cannot sell to anyone under 18 and the
phone number of the manufacturer has to be on the label. The units
must also be sold in sealed tamper-proof packages.
PLEASE NOTE: Pepper Spray is legal in all 50 states, however a
number of cities and states have restrictions on sizes, strengths,
etc.. If you have a question, it is wise to check with you local
city or state attorneys office. Defense sprays should only be
purchased by those 18 years of age or older. The above list may not
be totally accurate or complete and Safety Technology accepts no
responsibility for its accuracy or completeness.